Monday, August 8, 2016

Fathom Events Brings Dungeons & Dragons: Live to Local Theaters

Set to be a critical hit (I see what u did there), “Dungeons & Dragons: Live From PAX West” comes to U.S. cinemas live on Sunday, September 4 at 9:00 p.m. ET / 8:00 p.m. CT / 7:00 p.m. MT / 6:00 p.m. PT, presented by Fathom Events, Dungeons & Dragons and Wizards of the Coast. The PAX West convention sells out quickly year after year and the D&D Live Game is a big draw, with fans sometimes waiting in line for hours to watch it. This year, fans will have a chance to see the legendary group of D&D adventurers called Acquisitions Incorporated, led by acclaimed Dungeon Master Chris Perkins, on the big screen. This one-night live event includes a behind-the-scenes look at building the Dungeons & Dragons adventure and creating the set pieces, starting 30 minutes before stated show time, plus commentary from Perkins, as well as an exclusive adventure booklet for attendees.

Tickets for “Dungeons & Dragons: Live from PAX West” can be purchased online by visiting or at participating theater box offices. Fans throughout the U.S. will be able to enjoy the event in more than 300 select movie theaters through Fathom’s Digital Broadcast Network. For a complete list of theater locations visit the Fathom Events website (theaters and participants are subject to change).

“The Acquisitions Incorporated players are hilarious and great at improvisation,” said Chris Perkins, Dungeon Master for “Dungeons & Dragons Live from PAX West.” “I can’t wait to see how they handle their biggest threat ever: GIANTS! It’s going to be brutal, suspenseful and fun.”

Taking place in Seattle, PAX West is the premier festival that focuses on all things relevant to gaming culture, with one of the top events being the annual D&D Live Game, featuring Acquisitions Inc. The Live Game has been growing in popularity since it began in 2010, and in 2015 thousands of fans waited in line for hours to witness heroic storytelling from some of the most entertaining D&D players in the world. This year, rather than fans being turned away, they are able to experience PAX West through a VIP and up-close cinema experience.

“D&D fans are not going to want to miss this special event. Watching the game with like-minded fans at your local movie theater is the next best thing to being right at the gaming table!” Fathom Events CEO John Rubey said.

“There’s something really special about being in Benaroya Hall, watching a Dungeons & Dragons game live in front of thousands of people,” said Nathan Stewart, Global Brand Director of Dungeons & Dragons at Wizards of the Coast. “Now fans across the country are going to be able to experience a part of that magic, laughing and hanging out with their friends as they watch the antics of Acquisitions Inc. on a big screen. That’s what D&D is all about.”

No comments :

Post a Comment